Gluten Where You Least Expect It

Gluten where you least expect it
Gluten Where You Least Expect It You already know that gluten can be found in most baked goods, pasta, and cereals. What you might not know is that gluten can be found in unexpected foods and non-food products where you least suspect it.  What Foods Include Gluten?  Baked goods are an obvious place to find gluten. Avoiding your favourite biscuits can be difficult; replacing them with a gluten-free version can help. But gluten can hide in places where you’d least expect to find it. Depending on the brand and what’s on the label, unless it’s specified as gluten-free, you might find gluten in the following:
  • Hot chips
  • Dressings, gravies, and sauces
  • Powdered drink flavourings
  • Canned soups 
  • Sausages and processed meats
  • Seasoning
  • Custard powder
  • Yeast extract spread 
  • Communion hosts
Discovering what foods include gluten, as well as what other products to look out for, can save you a lot of pain and discomfort in the long run. Seeking out gluten-free dressings, seasonings, soups, and other foods can make things a bit easier on your system.  Non-Food Items Where Gluten Can Be Found Knowing what foods include gluten is only half of the battle. There are many non-food items where gluten can be found, such as:
  • Vitamins and supplements
  • Lipstick and lip balms
  • Dental products
  • Medications
  • Lotions and beauty creams
Look for beauty and body care products that are certified as gluten-free or, if you’re unsure, contact the manufacturer to get a definitive answer on whether or not their product contains gluten. If you’re worried about your prescription medication containing gluten, speak with your chemist about your concerns.  Cross-Contamination  Even if you try your best to avoid foods that contain gluten, you must be extra valiant to stay safe. Cross contamination is a major concern in restaurants, factories, and in your home. 
  • Hot chips in a restaurant might not contain gluten, but if they’re deep-fried in the same oil where batter-dipped fish is regularly cooked, it can be a problem. 
  • Oats do not typically contain gluten, but they might be processed in the same factory as other gluten foods, causing gluten contamination.
  • When preparing foods at home, using a utensil or cutting board that came into contact with gluten can spread it to your gluten-free foods. 
If you have celiac disease, or a gluten intolerance, knowing more about what foods contain gluten, the products you use, and cross-contamination is the key to staying healthy.    

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.